Aktuelles

The Pay Transparency Act: Right to Information as of 6 January 2018

The Act to Promote the Transparency of Pay Structures Between Women and Women (the Pay Transparency Act) takes effect at the start of July. It is designed to make internal pay systems more transparent and promote equal pay for men and women.

The Act primarily introduces:

1) an individual right to information for employees

If a business typically has more than 200 employees with the same employer, employees can request information about the company’s internal criteria and procedures for determining pay. If at least 6 employees of the other gender perform similar work, employees also have a right to be told the benchmark pay amount.

Unequal treatment may be justified e.g. due to regional differences, different qualifications and differences in performance. But if it is not justified, the employee may take legal action seeking the difference between his or her actual pay and the benchmark pay.

2) a pay report

If an employer typically has more than 500 employees and is required to prepare a management report, it must also prepare a pay report, which is to be published in the Federal Gazette alongside its financial statements and management report.

This report primarily concerns measures
– to promote equality; and
– to create equal pay
between men and women, citing both
– qualitative information (e.g. training measures, work/life balance); and
– quantitative criteria (e.g. total number of employees broken down by gender, as well as full- and part-time employees).

The first report is to be prepared in Calendar Year 2018, for Calendar Year 2016. From then on a three-year cycle applies for employees subject to a collective bargaining agreement and a five-year cycle applies for other employees. A reporting duty does not exist for corporate groups.

A striking feature of the Act is that companies which do not prepare or publish a pay report are not subject to legal penalties. Instead, the lawmakers rely on negative publicity: a clear sign that they were focused on capital market-oriented companies, rather than small and mid-sized businesses. This violation is also to be reported in the audit report, which is not meant for public consumption.

Literature: Kolb/Heinek, WPg 2017, 1243.

Transparenz

Mark Schüttler
MOORE STEPHENS Westfalen AG

Back

Corona Information for Germany N°1

Here we inform you about the most important measures and information from the Federal Republic of Germany and its federal states.

Read more

MO(O)RE NEWS

This issue of our newsletter presents the latest developments in (international) tax law, accounting, digitalization and business law.

Read more

Summarised Tax Information for Germany

Our summarised tax information for Germany is an abridged version of current tax and social security legislation, as at January 2020.

Read more

Aktuelles

Das Entgelttransparenzgesetz: Auskunftsanspruch ab 6. Januar 2018

 

Anfang Juli 2017 trat das Gesetz zur Förderung der Transparenz von Entgeltstrukturen zwischen Frauen und Männern in Kraft (Entgelttransparenzgesetz, EntTranspG). Innerbetriebliche Entgeltsysteme sollen transparenter werden und die Lohngerechtigkeit zwischen Frauen und Männern steigen.

Im Wesentlichen wird Folgendes eingeführt:

1) individueller Auskunftsanspruch für Beschäftigte

Verfügt ein Betrieb in der Regel über mehr als 200 Beschäftigte bei demselben Arbeitgeber, so kann der Beschäftigte Auskunft verlangen über innerbetriebliche Kriterien und Verfahren zur Entgeltfindung. Üben mindestens 6 Beschäftigte des anderen Geschlechtes eine ähnliche Tätigkeit aus, so hat der Beschäftigte überdies Anspruch auf Mitteilung eines Vergleichsentgeltes.

Ungleichbehandlungen können etwa durch regionale Unterschiede, der Qualifikation und der Arbeitsergebnisse gerechtfertigt werden. Sind sie hingegen ungerechtfertigt, so kann der Beschäftigte den Unterschied zwischen seinem tatsächlichen Entgelt und dem Vergleichsentgelt einklagen.

2) Entgeltbericht

Verfügt ein Arbeitgeber in der Regel über mehr als 500 Beschäftigte und ist er zur Aufstellung eines Lageberichtes verpflichtet, so muss er zudem einen Entgeltbericht aufstellen und diesen neben Jahresabschluss und Lagebericht beim Bundesanzeiger veröffentlichen.
Darin ist im Wesentlichen zu berichten über Maßnahmen
– sowohl zur Förderung der Gleichstellung
– als auch zur Herstellung von Entgeltgleichheit
zwischen Frauen und Männern, und zwar
– sowohl in qualitativen Angaben (z.B. Schulungsmaßnahmen, Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf)
– als auch in quantitativen Kriterien (z.B. nach Geschlecht aufgeschlüsselt die Gesamtzahl der Beschäftigten sowie Voll- und Teilzeitbeschäftigte).

Erstmals ist im Kalenderjahr 2018 über das Kalenderjahr 2016 zu berichten, danach gilt für tarifgebundene Arbeitgeber ein dreijähriger und für übrige Arbeitgeber ein fünfjähriger Zyklus. Eine Konzernberichtspflicht besteht nicht.

Auffallend ist: Wer keinen Entgeltbericht aufstellt oder veröffentlicht, wird nicht gesetzlich sanktioniert. Vielmehr setzt der Gesetzgeber auf die negative Beurteilung durch die Öffentlichkeit; ein klares Zeichen dafür, dass er kapitalmarktorientierte und keine mittelständischen Unternehmen im Fokus hatte. Überdies wird der Abschlussprüfer im nicht für die Öffentlichkeit bestimmten Prüfungsbericht über den Verstoß berichten.

Literatur: Kolb/Heinek, WPg 2017, 1243.

Transparenz

Mark Schüttler
MOORE STEPHENS Westfalen AG

Zurück

Corona-Newsletter N° 8

Hier informieren wir Sie über die wesentlichsten Maßnahmen und Informationen von Bund und Ländern.

Zum Artikel

Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise auf Unternehmensbewertungen

Der Fachausschuss für Unternehmensbewertung und Betriebswirtschaft (FAUB) hat mit einem fachlichen Hinweis zum Umgang mit der aktuellen Unsicherheit reagiert.

Zum Artikel

Moore Deutschland ist TOP!

Die Moore Deutschland AG ist TOP STEUERKANZLEI 2020 und erhielt das begehrte FOCUS-Siegel für den Bereich „Wirtschaftsprüfung“.

Zum Artikel