Aktuelles

Country-by-Country-Reporting

In October 2015, the OECD published the results of a joint project of the OECD and the G20, “Base Erosion and Profit Shifting” (BEPS), which proposes a set of measures to counteract base erosion and profit shifting. BEPS Action 13 revises the OECD standards for the documentation of transfer pricing. Multinational enterprises will now document their transfer pricing in three parts: the master file for the corporate group and the company-specific local files will be supplemented by largely standardized country reports (“country-by-country reporting,” or “CbC” reporting for short). Group parent companies with domestic and foreign revenues of more than EUR 750 million are required to prepare country-by-country reports, which are ultimately an aggregated presentation showing the global distribution (by country) of certain key performance indicators within the group. The reports are intended to illustrate the business relationships within each multinational enterprise in each financial year so as to enable the national authorities to assess the risk of presumed profit shifting.

Bastian Mönnig, StB, MOORE STEPHENS KPWT AG

Bastian Mönnig, StB, MOORE STEPHENS KPWT AG

Germany has already implemented BEPS Action 13 into national law  (§ 138a of the Tax Code). For companies whose financial year is the calendar year, country-by-country reports for the 2016 assessment period were to be submitted to the German Federal Central Tax Office in Bonn (“BZSt”) through the end of 2017 at the latest. In accordance with the declaration of 13 December 2018, this requirement expressly included the exchange of information between Germany and the US. However, companies are still required to submit annual tax declarations electronically to the (management) tax office.

CbC reports are to be prepared separately and electronically in an officially prescribed data format (XML format) and transmitted to BZSt. The reports may be transmitted in English. The figures to be reported to BZSt, based on the consolidated financial statements, include e.g. revenues, income taxes, earnings, capital, number of employees and key business activities, presented in a matrix for each country. Permanent establishments are also to be included in the report, and are to be treated like corporations.

BZSt is the responsible body in Germany to receive CbC reports from Germany and forward them to the responsible authorities abroad. BZSt receives CbC reports from abroad and forwards them to the appropriate (management) tax office in Germany. Accordingly, the CbC reports have the character of a cross-border tax audit tracer note between the tax authorities of various countries. BZSt may also analyze the CbC reports itself and store them for up to 15 years. It is therefore to be expected that, in future tax audits in Germany, a time series comparison will be performed for each group company and that significant deviations will be investigated.

If the foreign group parent company fails to prepare a CbC report, the German subsidiary is required to submit the report. If the CbC report is not submitted to BZSt, or is incomplete or submitted in an untimely manner, the company commits a tax offense and may face a fine of up to EUR 10,000, which may be imposed multiple times.

 

Back

Certification for Online Vendors

Starting in 2019, marketplace operators will be held liable by the German tax authorities if German or foreign online vendors sell goods in Germany through their marketplace without paying German value-added tax.

Read more

Doing business in Germany

This guide is designed to give an insight into doing business in Germany.

Read more

Landmark decision: ECJ overturns unequal treatment of third country dividends for trade tax purposes

The violation of Union law through the unequal treatment of third country dividends for trade tax purposes has long been debated in the literature.

Read more

Aktuelles

Country-by-Country-Reporting

Im Oktober 2015 veröffentlichte die OECD die Ergebnisse zum gemeinsamen Projekt „Base Erosion and Profit Shifting“ (BEPS) von G20 und OECD, welche ein Maßnahmenpaket gegen Gewinnkürzungen und Gewinnverlagerungen vorschlagen. Durch den BEPS-Aktionspunkt 13 wurden die OECD-Vorschriften zur Verrechnungspreisdokumentation neu gefasst. Die Verrechnungspreisdokumentation von multinational tätigen Unternehmen erfolgt nun dreiteilig: Der gruppenbezogene Master File und die unternehmensbezogen Local Files wurden durch einen – grundsätzlich international einheitlichen – länderbezogenen Bericht (sog. Country-by-Country-Reporting, kurz: CbCR) ergänzt. Den CbCR müssen Konzernobergesellschaften im In- und Ausland mit einem Umsatz von mehr als 750 Mio. Euro aufstellen, wobei der CbCR letztlich eine aggregierte Darstellung der globalen (länderbezogenen) Verteilung von bestimmten Kennziffern eines Konzerns ist. Die CbCRs für jedes Wirtschaftsjahr sollen die Geschäftsbeziehungen innerhalb eines multinationalen Konzerns verdeutlichen, um den nationalen Finanzbehörden eine Risikoprüfung zu einer vermuteten Gewinnverlagerung zu ermöglichen.

Bastian Mönnig, StB, MOORE STEPHENS KPWT AG

Bastian Mönnig, StB, MOORE STEPHENS KPWT AG

Deutschland hat den BEPS-Aktionspunkt 13 bereits in nationales Recht umgesetzt
(§ 138a AO). Bei kalendergleichem Wirtschaftsjahr war der CbCR erstmals für den Veranlagungszeitraum 2016 bis spätestens Ende 2017 an das deutsche Bundeszentralamt für Steuern in Bonn („BZSt“) zu übermitteln. Dies gilt gemäß der Erklärung vom 13.12.2018 ausdrücklich auch für den Informationsaustausch zwischen Deutschland und den USA. Die Jahressteuererklärungen sind aber weiterhin elektronisch an das (Geschäftsleitungs-)Finanzamt zu übermitteln.

Der CbCR ist separat und elektronisch nach einem amtlich vorgeschriebenen Datenformat (XML-Format) zu erstellen und an das BZSt zu übermitteln. Eine Übermittlung in englischer Sprache ist zulässig. Die dem BZSt darzulegenden Kennziffern umfassen ausgehend vom Konzernabschluss etwa Umsatzerlöse, Ertragsteuern, Ergebnis, Eigenkapital, Beschäftigtenzahl und wichtige Geschäftstätigkeiten, dargestellt in einer Matrix je Land. Auch Betriebsstätten sind in den CbCR einzubeziehen und werden wie Kapitalgesellschaften behandelt.

Das BZSt ist die in Deutschland zuständige Stelle zur Entgegennahme der CbCRs aus Deutschland und ihrer Weiterleitung an die zuständigen Behörden im Ausland. Das BZSt nimmt die CbCRs aus dem Ausland entgegen und leitet sie an das entsprechende (Geschäftsleitungs-)Finanzamt in Deutschland weiter. Damit hat der CbCR den Charakter einer grenzüberschreitenden Kontrollmitteilung zwischen den Finanzbehörden verschiedener Länder. Das BZSt darf die CbCRs auch selbst auswerten und bis zu 15 Jahre lang speichern. Es ist daher zu erwarten, dass für zukünftige Steuerprüfungen in Deutschland ein Zeitreihenvergleich je Konzerngesellschaft geführt wird und signifikante Abweichungen nachgefragt werden.

Erstellt die ausländische Konzernobergesellschaft keinen CbCR, so trifft die deutsche Konzerntochtergesellschaft die Berichtspflicht. Wird der CbCR nicht, nicht vollständig oder nicht rechtzeitig beim BZSt eingereicht, so stellt dies eine Steuerordnungswidrigkeit dar, die mit Geldbuße bis zu 10.000 Euro – auch mehrfach – belegt werden kann.

Zurück

Bescheinigung für Online-Händler

Marktplatzbetreiber werden ab 2019 vom deutschen Fiskus in Haftung genommen, wenn in- und ausländische Onlinehändler auf ihrem Marktplatz in Deutschland Waren vertreiben, ohne deutsche Umsatzsteuer abzuführen.

Zum Artikel

Doing business in Germany

Diese Broschüre von Moore Stephens Europe vermittelt Ihnen erste, grundsätzliche Informationen über unternehmerisch wichtige Gegebenheiten und Vorschriften in Deutschland.

Zum Artikel

Meilensteinentscheidung: EuGH kippt die gewerbesteuerliche Ungleichbehandlung von Drittstaatendividenden

Der Verstoß der gewerbesteuerlichen Ungleichbehandlung von Drittstaatendividenden gegen das Unionsrecht wurde bereits lange im Schrifttum diskutiert.

Zum Artikel